Payer Guide · UnitedHealthcare · New Jersey

UnitedHealthcare / Optum ABA coverage in New Jersey: the intake guide.

Last updated September 20266 primary sources

For an intake team in New Jersey, a UnitedHealthcare card means three layers at once: the carrier's national clinical policy, New Jersey's autism insurance mandate (P.L. 2009, c.115), and the plan's funding type deciding which of the two actually binds. This guide stacks them in order.

Prior auth for the assessment
Required — step 1 of Optum's two-step authorization (assessment auth via Provider Express)[1]
Prior auth for treatment
Required — step 2 (treatment auth); reviews every 4–6 months[1]
Autism diagnosis required?
Yes — DSM-5-TR ASD confirmed with a validated tool (ADI-R, ADOS-2, etc.)[1]
Covers ABA?Yes — for ASD, per the national UnitedHealthcare policy
State mandateP.L. 2009, c.115 (N.J.S.A. 17:48-6ii and parallel sections)
Mandate ageUnder 21 in statute; IHC/SEH markets extended to adults 21+ (Jan 2015)
Mandate caps$36,000/yr in statute — voided for MHPAEA group plans (DOBI Bulletin 10-02)
Exempt from mandateSelf-funded ERISA plans (may exclude ABA entirely)
LicensureNJ Licensed Applied Behavior Analyst (Consumer Affairs board)

The national policy, applied in New Jersey

UnitedHealthcare administers ABA through Optum Behavioral Health as a two-step authorization on the Provider Express portal — assessment authorized first, then treatment — under Optum's Supplemental Clinical Criteria, with continued-service reviews every 4–6 months. That clinical policy is national — what changes in New Jersey is the legal floor underneath it: the state mandate below governs what fully-insured plans must cover, while self-funded employer plans answer to ERISA and federal parity instead. Plan funding type is therefore the first fact to establish on every benefits check. The full national policy breakdown lives in our UnitedHealthcare / Optum guide; this page covers what changes in New Jersey.[1]

The New Jersey mandate: strong, and stronger than it reads

P.L. 2009, c.115 (effective February 9, 2010, codified across N.J.S.A. 17:48-6ii and parallel sections for insurers, HMOs, individual and small-employer plans, plus the SHBP and SEHBP) requires state-regulated plans to cover autism screening and diagnosis, medically necessary PT/OT/ST for autism or other developmental disabilities, and medically necessary ABA-based behavioral interventions for autism in individuals under 21 — coverage owed even when services aren't restorative. The statute's headline limitation, a $36,000/year ABA cap, is largely dead: DOBI Bulletin 10-02 held the cap cannot be applied to group health plans subject to MHPAEA, because New Jersey classifies autism as a biologically-based mental illness and dollar limits conflict with federal parity — leaving it live mainly in nongroup policies. The IHC and SEH program boards went further in amendments effective January 2015, extending ABA to adults 21+ and removing therapy visit limits in the individual and small-employer markets. Practical current state: state-regulated plans cover medically necessary ABA without dollar caps. Self-funded ERISA plans remain exempt and may exclude ABA entirely.[3][4]

Optum's New Jersey entry is a Medicaid entry

Optum's ABA State Mandates document (BH803ABASTM12026, effective January 2026) does carry a dedicated New Jersey section — but it's "For New Jersey Medicaid members" only, governing the carrier's NJ FamilyCare plan (no comprehensive diagnostic evaluation required, ages 18 months to 21, school setting outside school hours). There is no New Jersey commercial-specific entry, so commercial members ride on the national Supplemental Clinical Criteria plus the state mandate. Don't let the Medicaid entry's looser diagnosis bar bleed into commercial expectations: the national criteria's validated-tool diagnostic standard still applies to commercial requests.[2]

UnitedHealthcare Medicaid in New Jersey

A family saying "we have UnitedHealthcare" in New Jersey may actually be on the carrier's Medicaid plan — UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, an NJ FamilyCare MCO with behavioral health administered by Optum — which follows the state Medicaid rules and Optum's NJ Medicaid entry, not this commercial policy. Verify which line of business the card belongs to, and use the dedicated guide for the Medicaid plan.

Licensure & rates in New Jersey

New Jersey licenses behavior analysts through the State Board of Applied Behavior Analyst Examiners at the Division of Consumer Affairs: the Licensed Applied Behavior Analyst (LBA — master's or doctorate, current BCBA/BCBA-D, and the NJ jurisprudence exam) and the assistant-level LaBA, under N.J.S.A. 45:8B-91 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 13:42B. The board's position is that supervision in all its forms constitutes practicing behavior analysis and requires a license; RBTs are unlicensed and work under a licensee. On rates: UnitedHealthcare does not publish commercial ABA fee schedules for New Jersey (none of the national carriers do) — rates are contract-negotiated and live in your participating-provider agreement. Benchmark against NJ FamilyCare's published FFS schedule ($15.00/unit for 97153, $21.25 for 97155, $25.00 for 97151/97156) and treat rate-setting as a contracting conversation, not a lookup.[5]

Intake gates

The questions that decide whether a family can start with UnitedHealthcare / Optum in New Jersey, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.

Who may diagnose

A licensure test with a diagnostic-competence qualifier: "A valid diagnosis of ASD (or other applicable diagnosis as required by governing laws) must be issued by a state licensed physician, psychologist, or other state licensed clinician qualified to make such diagnosis according to the diagnostic criteria based on the DSM-5-TR." The diagnosing clinician must also confirm and document the severity level. Once the diagnosis is confirmed, the ABA provider identified for the member must be a master's- or doctoral-level BCBA, a licensed behavioral health clinician who has attested to sufficient expertise and been credentialed for ABA, or a BCaBA or non-licensed individual working under direct supervision. One New Jersey wrinkle on the code range: DOBI's implementing bulletin notes carriers may exclude clear Rett and childhood disintegrative disorder diagnoses from the mandate's autism definition, but must still consider them under the mandate's developmental-disability therapy prongs — so a Rett exclusion in the carrier policy is not the end of the coverage conversation on a state-regulated plan.[1][3]

Diagnostic tools required

Optum publishes the most explicit instrument list of any national carrier, and splits it three ways. The DSM-5 diagnosis and severity level must be confirmed "using at least one clinically validated tool (not an all-inclusive list)": first-level screeners (ABC, CHAT/M-CHAT, CSBS-DP-IT-Checklist, ASQ, AQ, CAST), second-level screeners (CARS/CARS-2, RITA-T, STAT), and formal diagnostic tools used as part of a comprehensive diagnostic evaluation — the Autism Diagnostic Interview-Revised (ADI), the Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule (ADOS/ADOS-2), and the Diagnostic Interview for Social and Communication Disorders (DISCO). Separately, treatment intensity must be chosen against baseline measurement using at least one of ATEC, VB-MAPP, ABLLS/ABLLS-R, AFLS, PEAK, SSIS, RBS-R, SRS, VABS or CFQL-2, individualized to the client rather than applied uniformly. On a commercial New Jersey card this validated-tool standard is the one that applies, not the NJ Medicaid entry's no-evaluation-required rule.[1][2]

Age limitPlan-dependent

Optum's Supplemental Clinical Criteria set no age limit for ABA — coverage turns on a valid ASD diagnosis, a credentialed provider and demonstrated medical necessity, with age entering only through norm-referenced instruments that compare functioning "to age-matched neurotypical peers." The binding age question is the legal layer underneath: New Jersey's mandate (P.L. 2009, c.115) reaches individuals under 21 on state-regulated plans, with the IHC and SEH program boards extending ABA to adults 21+ in the individual and small-employer markets from January 2015; a self-funded ERISA plan answers to its own plan document. Watch the line of business here: Optum's ABA State Mandates document does carry a dedicated New Jersey section, but it is "For New Jersey Medicaid members" only and governs UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, not commercial cards. Its looser standard — no comprehensive diagnostic evaluation required, ages 18 months to 21 — does not bleed into commercial requests.[1][2][3]

Ask the plan: The member's benefit document and Optum via Provider Express — funding type decides whether the state mandate or the plan document sets the age boundary.

Prior-auth decision timePlan-dependent

Depends on how the plan is funded. Fully insured New Jersey plans follow the Ensuring Transparency in Prior Authorization Act (in force January 1, 2025): for outpatient services such as ABA, a denial must be communicated "no later than 12 days if the request is submitted in paper, or nine days if submitted through an electronic portal provided by the payer," and urgent-care determinations no later than 72 hours after receipt; if the payer asks for more information and the provider does not respond within 72 hours, the request is deemed withdrawn. Useful for reauthorizations: a prior authorization for a chronic or long-term condition "shall remain in effect for 180 days" unless a shorter period is needed with notice to the provider. Self-funded (ERISA) plans follow the federal claims rule instead: pre-service decisions within 15 days of receipt (one 15-day extension), urgent within 72 hours. UnitedHealthcare's commercial administrative guide states "Standard requests: up to 15 calendar days" and "Expedited requests: 72 hours," and asks for requests "at least 15 calendar days in advance, if possible," and at least 5 business days before the service — for a fully insured NJ plan the state's shorter clock controls. ABA reviews run through Optum Behavioral Health.[7][8][9][10]

Ask the plan: Benefits verification: fully insured NJ policy (ETPAA 9/12-day clock, 180-day authorizations) vs. self-funded ERISA plan (15 days / 72 hours), plus the carrier's behavioral health reviewer turnaround.

Other insurance (who pays first)Plan-dependent

For a child on two parents' plans, New Jersey's group coordination-of-benefits rule (fully insured group contracts) puts the plan of "the parent whose birthday falls earlier in a year" first — month and day only; same birthday → the plan that covered the parent longer. Divorced or separated parents: the custodial parent's plan pays first, then the custodial parent's spouse's plan, then the non-custodial parent's plan, unless a court decree makes one parent responsible for the child's health care. Self-funded plans set their own order in the plan document. UnitedHealthcare: "COB is administered according to the member's benefit plan and in accordance with law"; Optum: "You are responsible for determining if the member has other insurance coverage. If so, you should bill the primary insurance carrier first, then notify Optum of your findings." If the child also has TRICARE, this plan pays first — TRICARE is the secondary payer to other health insurance under its double-coverage rule (Medicaid is the only coverage it pays ahead of). CHAMPVA likewise pays last: "In double coverage situations, CHAMPVA would be the last payer." If the child also has Medicaid, this plan is primary and Medicaid pays last.[11][10][12][13][14][15]

Ask the plan: Benefits verification with both plans: funding type, which is primary for the child, and whether the secondary plan requires its own authorization.

Diagnosis recencyAsk the plan

Not published. Optum's ABA criteria require a valid DSM-5-TR diagnosis confirmed with at least one clinically validated tool but set no maximum age for the diagnostic evaluation. The recency Optum does police is progress rather than diagnosis: continued coverage looks for demonstrable progress within a 6-month window and for updated standardized adaptive measures with change scores. The NJ Medicaid entry's "comprehensive diagnostic evaluation is not required" line is a Medicaid provision and does not apply to a commercial card.[1][2]

Ask the plan: Optum via Provider Express, or the Care Advocate handling the authorization — ask whether the plan applies a diagnostic-evaluation recency window at intake.

Referral required?Ask the plan

Not published as a coverage condition. Optum gates ABA on prior authorization — "Prior authorization is required for ABA (unless otherwise specified or mandated by contract or law)" — delivered as a two-step assessment-then-treatment workflow on Provider Express, with a valid diagnosis rather than a referral as the clinical trigger. What the criteria do require is coordination: documentation of communication with day care, preschool, school, early intervention and allied health providers to avoid duplication.[1]

Ask the plan: Optum via Provider Express and the member's benefit document — referral requirements, where they exist, are a plan-design feature.

TelehealthAsk the plan

Optum endorses telehealth without publishing a code list. Its ABA criteria point providers to the "Practice Parameters for Telehealth-Implementation of Applied Behavior Analysis, Second Edition" as the best-practice reference, describe telehealth guidelines as a resource "for designing, implementing, and operating ABA services delivered via telehealth in a broad range of clinical settings (e.g., home, clinic, school)," and set the boundary plainly: "The telehealth options presented are not intended to supplant in-person service; rather, they are intended to supplement the traditional in-person service delivery model." Which codes pay remotely, and with which place-of-service code, is not stated in the clinical criteria — and daily progress notes must record the place of service regardless. Nothing in the New Jersey mandate or DOBI Bulletin 10-02 addresses telehealth delivery of ABA, so there is no state floor to fall back on here — unlike Nebraska, whose statute names telehealth expressly. Optum's published New Jersey telehealth instruction — 97155 or 97156 with POS 02 after a virtual-visits attestation — sits in its NJ FamilyCare Medicaid orientation, so confirm rather than assume it for a commercial member.[1][2]

Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate at authorization and Provider Express — Optum runs a virtual-visits attestation on some lines of business, so confirm approval status and the billing POS before scheduling remote 97155 or 97156.

Delivery & billing rules

Coverage decides whether UnitedHealthcare / Optum in New Jersey pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.

Supervision

Optum’s commercial reimbursement policy publishes no supervision percentage or caseload cap — it refers providers to the ABA Coding Coalition for supervision requirements. What it does police is the boundary: “CPT codes 97153 and 97155 may not be billed for technician training,” including training a technician new to the organization on a client’s programming or on reassessment-driven goal changes. And 97155 “should be reported only for services where the QHP is either engaged directly with the patient or is directing a technician in implementing a modified protocol with the patient” — treatment planning is an indirect service and not separately reimbursable.[6]

Concurrent billing (97153 + 97155)

Yes, with a single-provider exclusion. “Can I report 97153 or 97154 with 97155 concurrently? A. Yes, as long as the criteria in the descriptors of both codes are met. A single QHP may not report 97153 or 97154 with 97155 concurrently.” So the concurrency has to be two people — technician on 97153, analyst on 97155 directing them with the patient present. Separately, 97155 and 97156 may both pay on the same date of service only if the services are separate, distinct and clearly documented; “a single provider can’t bill for both simultaneously (e.g., in the same 15-minute block).”[6]

Daily limits / MUEs

Optum publishes its own per-day table on top of CMS MUEs — maximum frequency per day: 97151 32 units (8 hrs), 97152 16 (4 hrs), 97153 32 (8 hrs), 97154 18 (4.5 hrs), 97155 24 (6 hrs), 97156 16 (4 hrs), 97157 16 (4 hrs), 97158 16 (4 hrs), 0362T 16 (4 hrs), 0373T 32 (8 hrs). MUEs otherwise apply per CMS guidance, and billing above 32 units/day of 97153 “may be subject to non-reimbursement or recovery.” Time is counted on the CMS 15-minute rule (1 unit at ≥ 8 minutes, 2 at ≥ 23, and so on).[6]

Bill as provider

One provider-level modifier per line, matching whoever actually rendered the service: HM = Registered Behavior Technician (less than bachelor’s level), HN = BCaBA (bachelor’s level), HO = BCBA or master’s-level licensed clinician, HP = BCBA-D or doctoral-level licensed clinician. A billable ABA-supervisor service is billed with the applicable CPT code plus HO. Stacking level modifiers is a denial risk: “Billing multiple provider-level modifiers (HN, HM, HO, HP) on the same service line same service and same DOS is not appropriate and may result in claim denial.” Indirect work has no code of its own — it is bundled into the direct-service code.[6]

Session-note signatureAsk the plan

No signature rule is published, but the documentation burden is explicit where money turns on it: services billed on the same date must be “separate, distinct, and clearly documented in the progress notes,” and if documentation does not clearly separate them the claim may be denied. Who signs, and within what window, is not stated.[6]

Ask the plan: The UnitedHealthcare/Optum provider manual and your participation agreement’s documentation clause.

Place of serviceAsk the plan

The commercial reimbursement policy sets no place-of-service rule. Optum’s published ABA State Mandates document does carry a New Jersey entry, but it is scoped to NJ Medicaid — “services may be provided in the school setting as long as services are not provided during normal school hours” — and should not be read onto a commercial member without confirming.[2]

Ask the plan: UnitedHealthcare provider services and the member’s benefit document; ask explicitly whether the NJ Medicaid school-hours rule is mirrored on the commercial product.

What intake should collect for UnitedHealthcare / Optum in New Jersey
Plan funding typeFully insured (mandate applies, no dollar cap in practice) vs. self-funded ERISA (exempt) — it decides which rulebook governs. Ask for the employer and check the card.
Line of businessCommercial vs. UnitedHealthcare Community Plan (NJ FamilyCare Medicaid) — different rules, different diagnosis bar, different guide.
Member ID + card photoEnough to run a live benefits verification — the only reliable answer on limits and cost-sharing.
Diagnosis reportDSM-5-TR ASD diagnosis with a validated tool (ADI-R, ADOS-2) for commercial — the looser Medicaid standard doesn't apply here.
AgeUnder 21 for the statutory ABA prong — but IHC/SEH-market plans extend ABA to adults, so flag 21+ cases for market analysis rather than turning them away.
Download the free verification-call checklist (PDF)

Common questions

Does UnitedHealthcare cover ABA therapy in New Jersey?

Yes — under the carrier's national policy for ASD (Optum's two-step Provider Express authorization), layered on New Jersey's mandate (P.L. 2009, c.115) for fully-insured plans. Self-funded employer plans are exempt from the mandate, so always verify plan funding type first.

Does Optum have New Jersey-specific ABA criteria?

Only for Medicaid — its State Mandates document carries a dedicated NJ FamilyCare entry (no comprehensive evaluation required, ages 18 months to 21). There is no NJ commercial entry, so commercial members follow the national Supplemental Clinical Criteria plus the state mandate.

Does the $36,000 ABA cap in New Jersey's mandate still apply?

Mostly not — DOBI Bulletin 10-02 held the cap cannot be applied to group plans subject to federal parity (MHPAEA). In practice, state-regulated plans cover medically necessary ABA without dollar caps; the cap survives mainly in nongroup policies.

Carelu collects all of this automatically.

Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.

Get a Demo