Payer Guide · UnitedHealthcare · Nebraska

UnitedHealthcare / Optum ABA coverage in Nebraska: the intake guide.

Last updated September 20267 primary sources

For an intake team in Nebraska, a UnitedHealthcare card means three layers at once: the carrier's national clinical policy, Nebraska's autism insurance mandate (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-7,106), and the plan's funding type deciding which of the two actually binds. This guide stacks them in order.

Prior auth for the assessment
Required — step 1 of Optum's two-step authorization (assessment auth via Provider Express)[1]
Prior auth for treatment
Required — step 2 (treatment auth); reviews every 4–6 months[1]
Autism diagnosis required?
Yes — DSM-5-TR ASD confirmed with a validated tool (ADI-R, ADOS-2, etc.)[1]
Covers ABA?Yes — for ASD, per the national UnitedHealthcare policy
State mandateNeb. Rev. Stat. § 44-7,106 (LB 254, eff. 1/1/2015)
Mandate ageUnder 21 (screening, diagnosis, and treatment of ASD)
Mandate caps25 hrs/week maximum benefit for behavioral health treatment incl. ABA
Exempt from mandateNon-grandfathered individual/small-group ACA plans; self-funded ERISA (preempted)
LicensureNE Licensed Behavior Analyst (DHHS Licensure Unit, 172 NAC 86)

The national policy, applied in Nebraska

UnitedHealthcare administers ABA through Optum Behavioral Health as a two-step authorization on the Provider Express portal — assessment authorized first, then treatment — under Optum's Supplemental Clinical Criteria, with continued-service reviews every 4–6 months and an operational flag when utilization falls below 80% of authorized hours. That clinical policy is national — what changes in Nebraska is the legal floor underneath it: the state mandate below governs what state-regulated plans must cover, while self-funded employer plans answer to ERISA and federal parity instead. Plan funding type is therefore the first fact to establish on every benefits check. Notably, Optum's ABA State Mandates supplemental criteria document (BH 803ABA, January 2026) contains no Nebraska entry — so Nebraska commercial members get the standard Optum criteria, with the state mandate operating at the benefits layer rather than through carrier-modified clinical criteria. The full national policy breakdown lives in our UnitedHealthcare / Optum guide; this page covers what changes in Nebraska.[1][2]

The Nebraska mandate: what it guarantees (and doesn't)

Nebraska's mandate (LB 254 of 2014, effective for policies delivered or renewed on or after January 1, 2015) requires coverage of screening, diagnosis, and treatment of ASD for individuals under 21 — with behavioral health treatment including ABA capped at a maximum benefit of 25 hours per week until age 21. No visit limits or less-favorable dollar limits or cost-sharing are otherwise permitted, non-BHT payments (OT/ST/PT, pharmacy, psychiatric care) cannot be applied against the cap, and the insurer may review treatment at most once every 6 months, at its own cost. ABA must be provided or supervised by a nationally certified behavior analyst or licensed psychologist, in person or by telehealth. The reach is narrower than it reads: the statute exempts non-grandfathered individual and small-group ACA plans required to include essential health benefits, so the mandate's practical territory is large-group and grandfathered plans — and while the statute's text reaches self-funded plans "to the extent not preempted," ERISA preemption still takes self-funded employer plans off the table. The 25-hour cap is also a quantitative limit whose enforceability against group plans is in tension with federal parity (MHPAEA) — treat that as an argument to raise, not a settled fact.[3]

UnitedHealthcare Medicaid in Nebraska

A family saying "we have UnitedHealthcare" in Nebraska may actually be on the carrier's Medicaid plan — UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska (Heritage Health), whose ABA network Optum has managed since 2017 — which follows the state Medicaid rules and the Optum Medicaid workflow, not this commercial policy. Verify which line of business the card belongs to, and use the dedicated guide for the Medicaid plan.[7]

Licensure & rates in Nebraska

Nebraska licenses behavior analysts under the Behavior Analyst Practice Act (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-4401 et seq., regulations at 172 NAC 86): the Licensed Behavior Analyst (LBA) credential for BCBAs and LaBA for BCaBAs, administered by the DHHS Licensure Unit with a Board of Behavior Analysts — and since January 1, 2025 the state's Medicaid program requires the license of every practicing BCBA, which has made LBA licensure the de facto floor for the market. On rates: UnitedHealthcare does not publish commercial ABA fee schedules for Nebraska (none of the national carriers do) — rates are contract-negotiated and live in your participating-provider agreement. When benchmarking, note that Nebraska's Medicaid fee schedule sits unusually low after the August 2025 cuts (97153 at $18.70 per 15 minutes), so commercial contracts here carry more of the margin than in most states.[4][6]

Intake gates

The questions that decide whether a family can start with UnitedHealthcare / Optum in Nebraska, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.

Who may diagnose

A licensure test with a diagnostic-competence qualifier: "A valid diagnosis of ASD (or other applicable diagnosis as required by governing laws) must be issued by a state licensed physician, psychologist, or other state licensed clinician qualified to make such diagnosis according to the diagnostic criteria based on the DSM-5-TR." The diagnosing clinician must also confirm and document the severity level. Once the diagnosis is confirmed, the ABA provider identified for the member must be a master's- or doctoral-level BCBA, a licensed behavioral health clinician who has attested to sufficient expertise and been credentialed for ABA, or a BCaBA or non-licensed individual working under direct supervision.[1]

Diagnostic tools required

Optum publishes the most explicit instrument list of any national carrier, and splits it three ways. The DSM-5 diagnosis and severity level must be confirmed "using at least one clinically validated tool (not an all-inclusive list)": first-level screeners (ABC, CHAT/M-CHAT, CSBS-DP-IT-Checklist, ASQ, AQ, CAST), second-level screeners (CARS/CARS-2, RITA-T, STAT), and formal diagnostic tools used as part of a comprehensive diagnostic evaluation — the Autism Diagnostic Interview-Revised (ADI), the Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule (ADOS/ADOS-2), and the Diagnostic Interview for Social and Communication Disorders (DISCO). Separately, treatment intensity must be chosen against baseline measurement using at least one of ATEC, VB-MAPP, ABLLS/ABLLS-R, AFLS, PEAK, SSIS, RBS-R, SRS, VABS or CFQL-2, individualized to the client rather than applied uniformly.[1]

Other insurance (who pays first)

UnitedHealthcare: "COB is administered according to the member's benefit plan and in accordance with law. We accept secondary claims electronically," and "If COB caused a delay, you have 90 days from the date of the primary carrier Explanation of Benefits to submit." For ABA through Optum: "bill the primary insurance carrier first, then notify Optum of your findings"; Optum processes "using industry-wide coordination of benefits (COB) standards and in accordance with benefit contracts and applicable state laws." Nebraska's COB regulation (210 NAC 39) governs fully insured plans: for a child whose parents are married or living together, "The plan of the parent whose birthday falls earlier in the calendar year is the primary plan" (same birthday: the plan that has covered the parent longest); for divorced or separated parents a court decree naming the responsible parent controls. Self-funded plans follow their plan document. If another payer needs a UHC denial to pay, Optum's FAQ says to "Call the number on the back of the member's insurance card to request a denial." If the child also has Medicaid, this plan pays first: Medicaid is payer of last resort (42 CFR 433.139) — bill here, then send the EOB or denial to Medicaid, and get Medicaid's own prior auth too if the state requires it. TRICARE is secondary to this plan ("TRICARE shall be last pay," 32 CFR 199.8), and "CHAMPVA is the last payer to OHI" (38 CFR 17.276(d)).[8][12][9][13][14][15][16]

Age limitPlan-dependent

Optum's Supplemental Clinical Criteria set no age limit for ABA — coverage turns on a valid ASD diagnosis, a credentialed provider and demonstrated medical necessity, with age entering only through norm-referenced instruments that compare functioning "to age-matched neurotypical peers." The binding age question is the legal layer underneath: Nebraska's mandate (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-7,106) reaches individuals under 21 on state-regulated plans and caps behavioral health treatment including ABA at 25 hours per week to age 21; non-grandfathered individual and small-group ACA plans are exempt, and a self-funded ERISA plan answers to its own plan document. Optum's ABA State Mandates supplement carries no Nebraska entry, so nothing carrier-side modifies the age question here.[1][2][3]

Ask the plan: The member's benefit document and Optum via Provider Express — funding type decides whether the state mandate or the plan document sets the age boundary.

TelehealthPlan-dependent

Optum endorses telehealth without publishing a code list. Its ABA criteria point providers to the "Practice Parameters for Telehealth-Implementation of Applied Behavior Analysis, Second Edition" as the best-practice reference, describe telehealth guidelines as a resource "for designing, implementing, and operating ABA services delivered via telehealth in a broad range of clinical settings (e.g., home, clinic, school)," and set the boundary plainly: "The telehealth options presented are not intended to supplant in-person service; rather, they are intended to supplement the traditional in-person service delivery model." Which codes pay remotely, and with which place-of-service code, is not stated in the clinical criteria — and daily progress notes must record the place of service regardless. One Nebraska-specific point does exist, and it sits in the statute rather than the carrier policy: § 44-7,106 requires that ABA be "provided or supervised by a nationally certified behavior analyst or licensed psychologist" and says so expressly of care delivered "in person or by telehealth," so remote delivery is contemplated by the mandate for state-regulated plans even where the carrier publishes no code list.[1][3]

Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate at authorization and Provider Express — Optum runs a virtual-visits attestation on some lines of business, so confirm approval status and the billing POS before scheduling remote 97155 or 97156.

Prior-auth decision timePlan-dependent

UnitedHealthcare publishes its own commercial clock: "Standard requests: up to 15 calendar days"; "Expedited requests: 72 hours"; "We may extend this time if we need additional information." Submit "at least 15 calendar days in advance, if possible, but … at least 5 business days before the planned service date." ABA requests route to Optum (Provider Express, AutismABA), where "All services require prior approval"; Optum's ABA FAQ says to request a continuation "no more than 30 days prior to the current approvals on file expiring" (that FAQ dates from October 2021). Nebraska fully insured plans are bound by LB 77 (operative January 1, 2026): a decision "within seventy-two hours after obtaining all necessary information" for urgent care and "within seven days after obtaining all necessary information" for nonurgent care (urgent tightens to 48 hours from January 1, 2028); "Health care services are deemed authorized if a utilization review agent fails to comply with the deadlines," the approval notice must state the authorization's duration or expiry date, and "prior authorization shall be valid for at least one year from the date the utilization review agent approves the prior authorization request." Self-funded ERISA plans are outside state law and follow 29 CFR 2560.503-1: a pre-service decision "not later than 15 days after receipt of the claim" (one 15-day extension), 72 hours for urgent care, and an urgent request to extend an approved course of treatment decided within 24 hours if made "at least 24 hours prior to the expiration." Where state law is stricter than UHC's 15 days, the law wins for fully insured members.[8][9][10][11]

Ask the plan: Optum Behavioral Health (number on the member ID card): confirm whether the plan is fully insured or self-funded, which sets whether state law or UHC's 15-day ceiling governs.

Diagnosis recencyAsk the plan

Not published. Optum's ABA criteria require a valid DSM-5-TR diagnosis confirmed with at least one clinically validated tool but set no maximum age for the diagnostic evaluation. The recency Optum does police is progress rather than diagnosis: continued coverage looks for demonstrable progress within a 6-month window and for updated standardized adaptive measures with change scores.[1]

Ask the plan: Optum via Provider Express, or the Care Advocate handling the authorization — ask whether the plan applies a diagnostic-evaluation recency window at intake.

Referral required?Ask the plan

Not published as a coverage condition. Optum gates ABA on prior authorization — "Prior authorization is required for ABA (unless otherwise specified or mandated by contract or law)" — delivered as a two-step assessment-then-treatment workflow on Provider Express, with a valid diagnosis rather than a referral as the clinical trigger. What the criteria do require is coordination: documentation of communication with day care, preschool, school, early intervention and allied health providers to avoid duplication.[1]

Ask the plan: Optum via Provider Express and the member's benefit document — referral requirements, where they exist, are a plan-design feature.

Delivery & billing rules

Coverage decides whether UnitedHealthcare / Optum in Nebraska pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.

Supervision

Optum's commercial reimbursement policy publishes no supervision percentage or caseload cap — it refers providers to the ABA Coding Coalition for supervision requirements. What it does police is the boundary: "CPT codes 97153 and 97155 may not be billed for technician training," including training a technician new to the organization on a client's programming or on reassessment-driven goal changes. And 97155 "should be reported only for services where the QHP is either engaged directly with the patient or is directing a technician in implementing a modified protocol with the patient" — treatment planning is an indirect service and not separately reimbursable.[5]

Concurrent billing (97153 + 97155)

Yes, with a single-provider exclusion. "Can I report 97153 or 97154 with 97155 concurrently? A. Yes, as long as the criteria in the descriptors of both codes are met. A single QHP may not report 97153 or 97154 with 97155 concurrently." So the concurrency has to be two people — technician on 97153, analyst on 97155 directing them with the patient present. Separately, 97155 and 97156 may both pay on the same date of service only if the services are separate, distinct and clearly documented; "a single provider can't bill for both simultaneously (e.g., in the same 15-minute block)."[5]

Daily limits / MUEs

Optum publishes its own per-day table on top of CMS MUEs — maximum frequency per day: 97151 32 units (8 hrs), 97152 16 (4 hrs), 97153 32 (8 hrs), 97154 18 (4.5 hrs), 97155 24 (6 hrs), 97156 16 (4 hrs), 97157 16 (4 hrs), 97158 16 (4 hrs), 0362T 16 (4 hrs), 0373T 32 (8 hrs). MUEs otherwise apply per CMS guidance, and billing above 32 units/day of 97153 "may be subject to non-reimbursement or recovery." Time is counted on the CMS 15-minute rule (1 unit at ≥ 8 minutes, 2 at ≥ 23, and so on).[5]

Bill as provider

One provider-level modifier per line, matching whoever actually rendered the service: HM = Registered Behavior Technician (less than bachelor's level), HN = BCaBA (bachelor's level), HO = BCBA or master's-level licensed clinician, HP = BCBA-D or doctoral-level licensed clinician. A billable ABA-supervisor service is billed with the applicable CPT code plus HO. Stacking level modifiers is a denial risk: "Billing multiple provider-level modifiers (HN, HM, HO, HP) on the same service line same service and same DOS is not appropriate and may result in claim denial." Indirect work has no code of its own — it is bundled into the direct-service code.[5]

Session-note signatureAsk the plan

No signature rule is published, but the documentation burden is explicit where money turns on it: services billed on the same date must be "separate, distinct, and clearly documented in the progress notes," and if documentation does not clearly separate them the claim may be denied. Who signs, and within what window, is not stated.[5]

Ask the plan: The UnitedHealthcare/Optum provider manual and your participation agreement's documentation clause.

Place of serviceAsk the plan

The commercial ABA reimbursement policy sets no place-of-service rule, and Optum's published ABA State Mandates document carries no Nebraska entry at all — so there is no carrier document answering where Nebraska commercial ABA is payable. Daily progress notes must record the place of service regardless. In Nebraska the layer underneath is § 44-7,106 for state-regulated plans, and the plan document for a self-funded one — note that the state's own Medicaid rule sends school-based ABA to the Medicaid school-based services program (471 NAC 25) rather than to independent providers, which is a Medicaid rule and not a commercial one.[5][2]

Ask the plan: UnitedHealthcare provider services and the member's benefit document.

What intake should collect for UnitedHealthcare / Optum in Nebraska
Plan funding typeLarge-group/grandfathered state-regulated (mandate applies) vs. small-group/individual ACA or self-funded ERISA (exempt) — it decides which rulebook governs.
Line of businessCommercial vs. UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska (Heritage Health Medicaid) — different rules, different guide.
Member ID + card photoEnough to run a live benefits verification — the only reliable answer on limits and cost-sharing.
Diagnosis reportDSM-5-TR ASD diagnosis confirmed with a validated tool (ADI-R, ADOS-2, etc.) — Optum's criteria require it.
Requested weekly hours vs. the 25-hour capWhere the mandate governs, BHT including ABA caps at 25 hrs/week — plan intensity and any parity argument accordingly.
Download the free verification-call checklist (PDF)

Common questions

Does UnitedHealthcare cover ABA therapy in Nebraska?

Yes — under the carrier's national policy for ASD, layered on Nebraska's mandate (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-7,106) for state-regulated plans. Self-funded employer plans are exempt from the mandate, so always verify plan funding type first.

What does the Nebraska autism mandate require?

Coverage of ASD screening, diagnosis, and treatment for individuals under 21, with behavioral health treatment including ABA capped at 25 hours per week — and insurer treatment reviews limited to once every 6 months. Non-grandfathered individual and small-group ACA plans are exempt, as are self-funded ERISA plans by preemption.

Does Optum have Nebraska-specific ABA criteria?

Not on the commercial side — Optum's ABA State Mandates supplement (BH 803ABA) has no Nebraska entry, so standard Optum criteria apply. On the Medicaid side it's the opposite: Optum runs a dedicated NE Heritage Health ABA program with its own forms and workflow — see the UHC Community Plan of Nebraska guide.

What does UnitedHealthcare pay for ABA in Nebraska?

Commercial ABA rates are not published — they are negotiated in your participating-provider agreement. Nebraska's Medicaid schedule is an unusually low benchmark after the August 2025 cuts, so treat commercial rate-setting as a first-order contracting conversation.

Carelu collects all of this automatically.

Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.

Get a Demo