Payer Guide · UnitedHealthcare · Indiana

UnitedHealthcare / Optum ABA coverage in Indiana: the intake guide.

Last updated September 20267 primary sources

For an intake team in Indiana, a UnitedHealthcare card means three layers at once: the carrier's national clinical policy, Indiana's autism insurance mandate (Ind. Code 27-8-14.2), and the plan's funding type deciding which of the two actually binds. This guide stacks them in order.

Prior auth for the assessment
Required — step 1 of Optum's two-step authorization (assessment auth via Provider Express)[1][5]
Prior auth for treatment
Required — step 2 (treatment auth); reviews every 4–6 months[1][5]
Autism diagnosis required?
Yes — DSM-5-TR ASD confirmed with a validated tool (ADI-R, ADOS-2, etc.)[1][5]
Covers ABA?Yes — for ASD, per the national UnitedHealthcare policy
State mandateInd. Code 27-8-14.2
Mandate ageNo age limit in the mandate
Mandate capsNo dollar, visit, or hour caps
Exempt from mandateIndividual policies are offer-only; self-funded ERISA
LicensureIN Licensed Behavior Analyst (PLA, applications live since 5/2025)

The national policy, applied in Indiana

UnitedHealthcare administers ABA through Optum Behavioral Health as a two-step authorization on the Provider Express portal — assessment authorized first, then treatment — under Optum's Supplemental Clinical Criteria, with continued-service reviews every 4–6 months and an operational flag when utilization falls below 80% of authorized hours. That clinical policy is national — what changes in Indiana is the legal floor underneath it: the state mandate below governs what fully-insured plans must cover, while self-funded employer plans answer to ERISA and federal parity instead. Plan funding type is therefore the first fact to establish on every benefits check. The full national policy breakdown lives in our UnitedHealthcare / Optum guide; this page covers what changes in Indiana.[1]

The Indiana mandate: what it guarantees (and doesn't)

Indiana’s mandate (2001) was the first autism insurance mandate in the country, and it remains one of the strongest: group accident and sickness policies must cover ASD treatment prescribed by the treating physician under a treatment plan, with no age limits and no dollar, visit, or hour caps — and cost-sharing no less favorable than for physical illness generally. Individual-policy insurers must offer (not automatically include) the coverage, and self-funded ERISA plans are exempt by preemption. There’s little parity tension here because the statute imposes no quantitative limits of its own.[2][3]

Optum's Indiana-specific criteria

Indiana is one of the states with its own entry in Optum’s ABA State Mandates supplemental criteria: for Indiana members, services are recognized as intensive and may be provided daily, and the document explicitly disclaims any quantitative benefit limits implied by its guidelines — intensity keys to the individualized treatment plan. That’s useful language to cite when a requested intensity draws pushback.[6]

UnitedHealthcare Medicaid in Indiana

A family saying “we have UnitedHealthcare” in Indiana may actually be on the carrier’s Medicaid plan — UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Indiana — which follows the state Medicaid rules, not this commercial policy. Verify which line of business the card belongs to, and use the dedicated guide for the Medicaid plan.

Licensure & rates in Indiana

Indiana began licensing behavior analysts in May 2025 (IC 25-8.5, via the Professional Licensing Agency’s Behavior Analyst Committee), built on current BCBA/BCaBA certification with biennial renewal. Expect commercial payers to fold the LBA license into credentialing requirements as it phases in. On rates: UnitedHealthcare does not publish commercial ABA fee schedules for Indiana (none of the national carriers do) — rates are contract-negotiated and live in your participating-provider agreement, so treat rate expectations as a contracting conversation, not a lookup.[4]

Intake gates

The questions that decide whether a family can start with UnitedHealthcare / Optum in Indiana, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.

Who may diagnose

A DSM-5-TR autism spectrum diagnosis from a state-licensed physician, psychologist, or other qualified clinician. Optum asks for the diagnosing clinician and the confirming instrument at the assessment-authorization step, so both are intake fields.[1]

Diagnostic tools required

The diagnosis must be confirmed with at least one clinically validated tool. Optum names first-level instruments — the ADI-R, the ADOS-2 and the DISCO — and accepts second-level tools including the CARS-2, the RITA-T and the STAT. Capture which instrument was used, by whom and when.[1]

Telehealth

Gated on the provider, not just the code. Tele-supervision and virtual family training require the provider to be an approved Optum virtual-visits provider with a completed attestation on Provider Express, and the authorization itself must note virtual delivery. Optum frames telehealth as a supplement to in-person care, not a replacement.[5]

Age limitPlan-dependent

None from either direction, which is unusual. The carrier's national ABA policy states no age limit, and Indiana's mandate — the first autism insurance mandate in the country — imposes none either: group accident and sickness policies must cover treatment of an autism spectrum disorder prescribed by the insured's treating physician under a treatment plan, with no age limit and no dollar, visit or hour cap anywhere in IC 27-8-14.2. Individual-policy insurers must only offer the coverage, and self-funded ERISA plans are outside the chapter entirely — so an individual or self-funded plan may lawfully lack the benefit.[2]

Ask the plan: Benefits verification on the specific plan, via the payer portal or the number on the member’s card — ask three things: is this a fully-insured Indiana group policy (the mandate reaches it), an individual policy (IC 27-8-14.2-5 requires only that the coverage be offered, so ask whether this policy took it up), or a self-funded ERISA plan (outside the chapter entirely); and if the plan is outside the mandate, what age or hour limit the plan document itself imposes on ABA.

Referral required?Plan-dependent

Yes on a fully-insured Indiana group plan, and it is the statute that requires it: coverage is “limited to treatment that is prescribed by the insured's treating physician in accordance with a treatment plan.” The mandate names no credential for the person delivering the service — that comes from the carrier and from Indiana's separate licensure chapter — but the treating physician's prescription is a coverage condition. Capture the prescribing physician and the plan they signed off on. Individual policies (offer-only) and self-funded ERISA plans are outside the chapter.[2]

Ask the plan: Benefits verification on the specific plan, via the payer portal or the number on the member’s card — confirm the funding type first, because the statutory prescription requirement only reaches fully-insured Indiana group policies. On an individual or self-funded ERISA plan, ask the carrier directly whether it requires a treating-physician prescription and a treatment plan, and get the answer with the authorization.

Prior-auth decision timePlan-dependent

Depends on how the plan is funded. A fully insured plan issued in Indiana (group, individual or HMO) falls under IC 27-1-37.5-23, in force since July 1, 2025: urgent PA answered “not later than twenty-four (24) hours after receiving the request,” every other PA “not later than forty-eight (48) hours,” with weekends and state and federal holidays excluded; a missed deadline means the service “shall be automatically deemed authorized” (IC 27-1-37.5-28). A self-funded private-employer plan follows the federal ERISA claims rule instead: urgent within 72 hours; pre-service within a reasonable time “but not later than 15 days after receipt of the claim,” with one 15-day extension; and a request to extend an ongoing course of treatment that involves urgent care must be decided within 24 hours if made at least 24 hours before the authorization expires. Optum, which reviews UHC's ABA, sets the reauthorization window: call the ABA/Autism line to request continued treatment “no more than 30 days prior to the current approvals on file expiring,” with all the clinical information in hand.[8][9][10][5]

Ask the plan: Benefits verification call or the UnitedHealthcare / Optum Provider Express provider portal: ask whether the plan is fully insured and issued in Indiana (state 24/48-business-hour clock) or self-funded ERISA (federal 72-hour / 15-day clock), and what turnaround the plan quotes for ABA.

Other insurance (who pays first)Plan-dependent

Depends on the family and on plan funding. For a fully insured Indiana group plan, 760 IAC 1-38.1 sets the order: the plan covering the person as employee or subscriber pays before one covering them as a dependent; for a child whose parents are married or living together, “the plan of the parent whose birthday falls earlier in a calendar year” is primary (same birthday: the plan that has covered that parent longest); for parents who are divorced, separated or do not live together, with no court decree, the order is custodial parent, custodial parent's spouse, noncustodial parent, noncustodial parent's spouse — and a decree that makes one parent responsible for health coverage overrides it. A self-funded ERISA plan sets its COB rules in its plan document instead. TRICARE is always “last pay” behind other health coverage (32 CFR 199.8), so this plan pays before TRICARE. If the child also has Indiana Medicaid, this plan pays first and IHCP pays last — but IHCP still requires its own PA (“must also obtain PA from the appropriate IHCP PA contractor”) and will not pay for services this plan denied as out-of-network, so be in this plan's network and get both authorizations.[11][12][13][14][15][16]

Ask the plan: At intake, collect every coverage the child has, both parents' birthdays and any custody or court-decree terms; then ask UnitedHealthcare (and the other carrier) on the benefits call whether each plan is fully insured or self-funded and which one they show as primary.

Diagnosis recencyAsk the plan

Optum publishes no recency rule for the ASD diagnosis in the Supplemental Clinical Criteria cited here; the cadence it does set is downstream — continued-service reviews every 4–6 months requiring updated standardized adaptive measures and progress measured the same way as baseline. Indiana's mandate sets no recency rule for commercial plans.[1][2]

Ask the plan: Optum provider services or the assessment-authorization request on Provider Express — ask whether an evaluation of this age will be accepted before scheduling.

Delivery & billing rules

Coverage decides whether UnitedHealthcare / Optum in Indiana pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.

Supervision

Optum's Supplemental Clinical Criteria set supervision at 1–2 hours per 10 hours of direct treatment, with a floor of at least one hour of 97155 per case per month. Indiana adds the licensure layer: LBA/LABA applications went live May 13, 2025 and practising ABA without the licence is prohibited, with direct-contact technicians exempt only while acting under a licensed analyst's extended authority and direction.[1][4][7]

Concurrent billing (97153 + 97155)

Permitted in three named pairs: supervision alongside direct care (97153 + 97155), group oversight (97154 + 97155), and parent training alongside direct care (97153 + 97156). Not covered at all: team meetings without the member present, 1:1 classroom aides, and services owed under IDEA.[1]

Place of service

Optum's exclusions are the operative setting rule: team meetings without the member, 1:1 classroom aides, and any service owed under IDEA are not covered, which makes the school and IEP picture a coverage question rather than background.[1]

Daily limits / MUEsAsk the plan

Optum authorizes in four code clusters rather than against a per-day ceiling — assessment (97151, 97152), direct care (97153, 97154), multi-staff (0362T, 0373T) and QHP services (97155–97158) — with units flexing within a cluster without a new authorization. Optum's Indiana State Mandates entry pushes the same way: services are recognized as intensive and may be provided daily, and the document disclaims any quantitative benefit limits implied by its guidelines. The number that bites runs the other way: utilization below 80 percent of authorized hours over a two-week window draws scrutiny at review.[1][6]

Ask the plan: The authorization letter on Provider Express, and Optum provider services — ask whether any per-day MUE applies on top of the cluster structure.

Session-note signatureAsk the plan

Not published in the Supplemental Clinical Criteria. What Optum specifies is the review packet rather than the session note: continued-service reviews every 4–6 months want progress documented per targeted behavior using the same measurement methods as baseline, mastered-program rates, change scores and updated standardized adaptive measures. Who signs an individual session note, and by when, is not stated.[1]

Ask the plan: Optum provider services, or your Provider Express network manager — ask for the documentation standard applied at audit.

Bill as providerAsk the plan

Not published in the Supplemental Clinical Criteria. Optum authorizes by code cluster and names a QHP services cluster (97155–97158) distinct from the direct-care cluster (97153, 97154), which implies a credential split on the rendering line but does not state whose NPI carries a technician-delivered 97153 claim or which degree-level modifiers apply.[1]

Ask the plan: Optum provider services or the authorization letter on Provider Express — confirm the rendering-versus-billing NPI convention and any required modifiers before the first claim.

What intake should collect for UnitedHealthcare / Optum in Indiana
Plan funding typeFully insured (mandate applies) vs. self-funded ERISA (exempt) — it decides which rulebook governs. Ask for the employer and check the card.
Line of businessCommercial vs. UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Indiana (Medicaid) — different rules, different guide.
Member ID + card photoEnough to run a live benefits verification — the only reliable answer on limits and cost-sharing.
Diagnosis reportDSM-5 ASD diagnosis, diagnosing provider and credentials, evaluation date.
AgeWhere the mandate carries age terms, flag edge cases for the parity analysis rather than turning families away.
Download the free verification-call checklist (PDF)

Common questions

Does UnitedHealthcare cover ABA therapy in Indiana?

Yes — under the carrier's national policy for ASD, layered on Indiana's mandate (Ind. Code 27-8-14.2) for fully-insured plans. Self-funded employer plans are exempt from the mandate, so always verify plan funding type first.

What does the Indiana autism mandate require?

Indiana’s mandate (2001) was the first autism insurance mandate in the country, and it remains one of the strongest: group accident and sickness policies must cover ASD treatment prescribed by the treating physician under a treatment plan, with no age limits and no dollar, visit, or hour caps — and cost-sharing no less favorable than for physical illness generally. See the mandate section above for ages, caps, and exemptions — and remember federal parity limits how hard the numeric caps can be enforced against group plans.

What does UnitedHealthcare pay for ABA in Indiana?

Commercial ABA rates are not published — they are negotiated in your participating-provider agreement. Benchmark against the Indiana Medicaid fee schedule where one exists, and treat rate-setting as part of contracting.

Carelu collects all of this automatically.

Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.

Get a Demo