UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska (UnitedHealthcare of the Midlands) administers the Heritage Health ABA benefit with the autism network carved to Optum Behavioral Health — an arrangement in place since January 1, 2017, with its own NE-specific program guide, training deck, forms, and fax lines. The state MSD coverage rules and state-directed rates apply, but Optum layers its own clinical criteria, a two-step assessment-then-treatment authorization workflow, and active utilization review on top — materially more process than the state baseline, and worth designing intake around.
Optum's Nebraska program requires prior authorization for everything: the initial ABA assessment (including write-up time) needs a written request — the treatment request form marked as an assessment request — with the diagnostic evaluation, IDI, or FBA attached. Treatment is a second, separate authorization: families cannot start treatment on the assessment auth alone. Treatment requests must include the evaluation from the diagnosing provider plus a treatment plan with baseline and mastery criteria, a transition plan, discharge criteria, parent goals, supervision hours, and coordination of care — and medical necessity applies at both initial and concurrent review, with additional units requiring their own PA. Submissions go through Optum's online ABA treatment-request portal or fax 1-888-541-6691 (an older quick-reference guide lists 1-855-268-9392); claims run on payer ID 87726 with 180-day timely filing.[1][2]
Optum runs the ABA network separately from the medical plan — verify benefits via the behavioral-health number on the member ID card or the NMES line at 1-800-642-6092, not the medical line. Per Optum's program documents, eligibility is described as members younger than 20 covered under Heritage Health. Treatment requests probe school hours and parent participation, and expect concurrent review to have teeth: ProPublica's 2024–2025 reporting on Optum strategy documents around ABA cost containment in Medicaid plans named Nebraska among focus states. Rates are not an Optum variable — DHHS's HPA 25-08 requires MCO ABA rates to reflect the revised state fee schedule effective August 1, 2025 — so the plan-specific work is process: clean two-step requests, complete treatment-plan elements, and progress data ready at every concurrent review.[1][4][8]
The questions that decide whether a family can start with UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.
Two documents, two numbers, and they are worth quoting separately rather than averaging. The state service definitions set admission at "Age: 0-20" (with DD-waiver recipients able to receive 97151/97152 regardless of age). Optum's own Nebraska Heritage Health program training states member eligibility as "Be younger than age 20" and "Be covered under Nebraska Heritage Health." The one-year gap is unresolved in the published material — for a 20-year-old member, confirm with the Care Advocate before scheduling rather than assuming either document wins.[3][2]
Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate / the NE Heritage Health Medicaid Autism-ABA Program page on Provider Express.
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: an Initial Diagnostic Interview within the previous 12 months must establish the need for the ABA assessment, with an addendum where the presentation has changed. Optum turns that into an attachment requirement: the written assessment request goes in with "the diagnostic evaluation, IDI, or FBA" attached, and treatment requests must carry the evaluation from the diagnosing provider.[3][1]
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: the IDI is performed by "A licensed practitioner who is able to diagnose and treat major mental illness within his/her scope of practice" — Physician, Physician Assistant, APRN/NP, Psychologist or LIMHP — with ASD or a developmental or intellectual disability as the qualifying diagnosis. Optum does not publish a Nebraska diagnostician list of its own; what it requires is the evaluation from the diagnosing provider in the request packet.[5][1]
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: no ASD diagnostic instrument is mandated, and the instruments Nebraska names (Vineland, VB-MAPP, ABLLS) sit in the treatment plan and continued-stay review rather than behind the diagnosis. Optum's Nebraska program asks for the FBA or diagnostic evaluation in the packet and for a treatment plan with baseline and mastery criteria, but names no instrument.[3][2]
No referral or order is required by the state — the gate is the IDI plus the ABA assessment. Optum replaces it with an authorization gate that is stricter than the state's: "All Autism Services require Prior Authorization," including the initial assessment and its write-up time, requested in writing on the treatment request form marked as an assessment request with the diagnostic evaluation, IDI or FBA attached. Treatment is a second, separate authorization — families cannot start treatment on the assessment authorization alone.[1][3]
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: audiovisual telehealth is available for 97155 (only while 97153 runs concurrently), 97156 and the 97151 assessment under the conditions the service definitions spell out; 97152, 97153, 97154 and 97158 cannot be delivered remotely. Optum's Nebraska Heritage Health program material publishes no telehealth section of its own, and Optum's virtual-visits attestation requirement is documented on other lines of business rather than this one — do not assume it applies here without asking.[3][6]
Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate / the NE Heritage Health Medicaid Autism-ABA Program page on Provider Express.
UnitedHealthcare Community Plan's 2026 Nebraska manual sets the clocks, and Optum (United Behavioral Health) decides ABA requests. Non-urgent pre-service: "Within 5 working days of receipt of medical record information required but no longer than 7 calendar days of receipt of request." Urgent: "Within 72 hours of request receipt." Either can be extended up to 14 days at your or the family's request, or when more information is justified. Concurrent review: "Within 24 hours from receipt of the request," extended to 72 hours if the plan documents an attempt to get clinical information. Approvals are communicated within 24 hours of the decision; written denials go out within 2 business days. For lead time, the manual says to seek prior authorization for "Nonemergency admissions or outpatient services (except maternity) – at least 14 business days beforehand." Use that as the reauthorization window.[9]
"UnitedHealthcare Community Plan is, by law, the payer of last resort for eligible members." You "must bill and obtain an explanation of benefits (EOB) from any other insurance or health care coverage resource before billing UnitedHealthcare Community Plan." Then "attach a copy of the EOB to the submitted claim"; it "must be complete to understand the paid amount or denial reason." For deadlines, the manual says: "Refer to your Agreement for third party claim submission deadlines." Benefits are coordinated "based on the member's benefit contract and applicable regulations." Neither the manual nor Optum's Nebraska ABA guides say whether Optum's ABA prior auth is required when a commercial plan is primary.[9]
Ask the plan: Optum / UnitedHealthcare Community Plan 1-866-331-2243: ask whether ABA prior authorization is required when a commercial plan is primary, and what third-party claim deadline your Agreement sets.
Coverage decides whether UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Nebraska pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: direct supervision by observation of the technician at no less than 10% of weekly direct service hours (97153/97154/97155), at least one hour a month of in-person observation of each technician or LaBA, at least one hour a month of in-person direct service by the treating LBA or psychologist, and no more than 24 technicians per LBA. Optum layers staff-level network rules on top rather than a competing ratio: supervising BCBAs must hold BACB supervisory certification, technicians need RBT (or equivalent national) certification with "appropriate training and supervision by BCBAs or licensed clinician," a BCBA or licensed clinician must provide program oversight and "performs skills assessments and provides direct supervision of behavior technician in joint sessions," and groups carry $1M/$3M professional liability cover.[3][2]
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: direct ABA "may not exceed 6 hours in a single day or a total of 20 hours per week," with more available on prior authorization and clinical justification; group work runs one technician to 2-5 children on 97154 and one licensed clinician to 2-5 on 97158. Optum publishes no Nebraska per-day unit table — and its commercial ABA reimbursement policy's per-day maximums are a different product and should not be assumed onto this plan. What binds in practice here is the authorization: medical necessity applies at initial and concurrent review, and additional units need their own PA.[3][1]
Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate / the NE Heritage Health Medicaid Autism-ABA Program page on Provider Express.
Nebraska says what a progress note must contain, sets the deadline by reference, and never names a session-note signer. Progress notes "must be completed within the time frame specified in the program's policies and procedures" and must substantiate each service through narrative description, "Include an accurate start and end time for the service," tie the service to plan goals and priorities, document participation and revision of goals, and record the individual's response "in the individual's own words if possible, if age and developmentally appropriate." Signatures attach to the other documents: the treatment plan must "Be approved and signed by the licensed clinician or supervisor if provisionally licensed" and carry the individual's or guardian's signature (a parent or guardian where the individual is under 19); the ABA assessment report "must be signed by the licensed clinicians who participated in the development of the report, including the supervising practitioner, when applicable"; and the discharge summary must "contain the signature of the supervising clinician and date of signature." Supervision itself must be documented in progress notes. Optum's Nebraska program material adds documentation expectations for the request packet — baseline and mastery criteria, transition and discharge plans, parent goals, supervision hours, coordination of care — but names no session-note signer or signing deadline.[7][1]
Community, home, office or clinic — and school is not yours to bill. The treatment MSD lists the allowable settings as "Community, Home, Office or Clinic," then carves the school out entirely: "ABA services are covered as part of the Medicaid school-based services program, and are the responsibility of the school as outlined in Nebraska Administrative Code Title 471, Chapter 25 and the Medicaid State Plan. Independent providers may not bill Medicaid directly for services provided at a school." The assessment MSD keeps School on its settings list under the same carve-out. Where ABA does run in an educational setting, "A school plan is required for all educational settings, to include both public and private schools" (not daycare or after-school), it must be included in the student's IEP, it must focus on reducing behaviors that impede academic engagement rather than on general skill acquisition, and it must be time-limited with a transition plan shifting instructional control to school staff. Excluded outright: "Services delivered in the school setting as a shadow, or an aide, or to provide general support to the child or youth," and training for school personnel. Group homes are not addressed. Optum publishes no Nebraska-specific deviation; its Nebraska treatment requests do probe school hours, which is a scheduling question rather than a billable-setting one given the 471 NAC 25 carve-out.[3][6][1]
Not stated in billing terms, though the definitions read as if it happens. The telehealth rule allows 97155 by audiovisual telehealth only where "The individual is receiving 97153 services concurrently," and the supervision percentage is measured against "direct service hours (97153/97154/97155)" as a single weekly pool — both of which presume the analyst and the technician on the clock at the same time. But neither MSD says in terms that both codes may be billed for the same clock time. What Nebraska does prohibit by name is a different concurrency: "Services delivered concurrently (at the same time) as another treatment modality (i.e. ST, OT, PT)," and "Services delivered by 2 LBAs unless non-duplicative and clinically appropriate." Optum publishes no Nebraska-specific concurrency edit.[3]
Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate / the NE Heritage Health Medicaid Autism-ABA Program page on Provider Express.
Nebraska controls this through code-level provider eligibility rather than a modifier set. Licensed clinicians who may bill 97151 — and who render 97155, 97156 and 97158 — are a psychiatrist, physician, psychologist or provisionally licensed psychologist, each with training in ABA, or a Licensed Behavior Analyst. Technicians who may bill 97152, 97153 and 97154 under a licensed clinician's supervision are a Licensed assistant Behavior Analyst or a Registered Behavior Technician. Since January 1, 2025 every BCBA must be licensed as an LBA and every BCaBA as a LaBA, so the state license rather than the BACB certificate is what makes the claim payable, and RBT is enrolled as its own Medicaid provider type (85) on the fee schedule. Which NPI carries the claim line is not stated. Optum credentials the group and its staff through its own network process, and claims run on payer ID 87726 with 180-day timely filing, but which NPI carries technician-delivered 97153 is not stated.[3][1]
Ask the plan: The Optum Care Advocate / the NE Heritage Health Medicaid Autism-ABA Program page on Provider Express.
Yes — it administers the Heritage Health ABA benefit under the state Medicaid Service Definitions, with the autism network managed by Optum Behavioral Health since 2017. All autism services, the assessment included, require prior authorization.
Yes — the initial assessment needs a written request (the treatment request form marked as an assessment request) with the diagnostic evaluation, IDI, or FBA attached. Treatment is a second, separate authorization.
Through Optum's online ABA treatment-request portal or fax 1-888-541-6691, with the full treatment-plan package (baseline/mastery criteria, transition and discharge plans, parent goals, supervision hours, coordination of care). Claims use payer ID 87726 with 180-day timely filing.
Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed September 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.
Carelu collects all of this automatically.
Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.
Get a Demo