Nebraska Total Care, Centene's Heritage Health plan, is the closest of the three MCOs to the state baseline: its Nebraska-specific policy NE.CP.BH.105 ("Applied Behavioral Analysis Documentation Requirements," rev. 06/2024) operationalizes the DHHS Medicaid Service Definitions rather than imposing distinct medical-necessity criteria — and its own footer says state Medicaid provisions take precedence in any conflict. What the plan adds is paperwork rigor: an OTR-based authorization workflow and a documentation checklist detailed enough that denial risk here is documentation-driven more than criteria-driven.
ABA requests go through the Outpatient Treatment Request (OTR) process — the plan publishes an ABA Form and an ABA OTR Tip Sheet — submitted through the secure provider portal (provider.nebraskatotalcare.com) or by fax to 866-593-1955. The treatment plan must include hours requested per service with clinical justification, billing codes, a titration/discharge plan, a crisis plan, and documented coordination-of-care attempts down to dates, success, and contact names. On the front end, NE.CP.BH.105 requires the behavior identification assessment package to include the IDI and a functional behavior assessment with direct assessment and data analysis. One honest gap: we did not locate a published NTC statement that the assessment CPT codes themselves require PA — verify the assessment-PA question in the portal or with the plan before booking, rather than assuming either way.[1][2]
The policy's documentation checklist is unusually granular: time in/out, pauses in service with resume times, even preferred-versus-legal name conventions. Paired with the plan's published tip-sheet suite (assessment/plans, caregiver training, coordination of care, transition planning), the signal is active chart auditing — build session-note templates to the checklist rather than remediating at audit. Clinically, the policy mirrors the state: it accepts a confirmed DSM-5-TR ASD diagnosis "or an appropriate diagnosis as otherwise specified according to state-defined ABA criteria," which preserves Nebraska's developmental/intellectual-disability pathway, and group adaptive treatment sessions must run with 2–8 participants. Rates track the state fee schedule per DHHS direction.[1][6]
The questions that decide whether a family can start with Nebraska Total Care (Centene), and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: admission is "Age: 0-20" under both ABA service definitions, with DD-waiver recipients able to receive the ABA assessment codes (97151/97152) regardless of age. NE.CP.BH.105 is a documentation policy and states no age criterion of its own, and its footer is explicit that for Medicaid members "when state Medicaid coverage provisions conflict with the coverage provisions in this clinical policy, state Medicaid coverage provisions take precedence."[3][1]
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: an Initial Diagnostic Interview completed within the previous 12 months, with an IDI addendum where the clinical presentation has changed. Nebraska Total Care operationalizes rather than relaxes it — NE.CP.BH.105 requires the behavior identification assessment package to contain both the "Initial Diagnostic Interview (IDI)" and a "Functional Behavioral Assessment (FBA), including both of the following assessment techniques: Direct assessment; Data analysis."[1][3]
Two layers, and the plan's is the stricter one. The state routes the diagnosis through the IDI, performed by "A licensed practitioner who is able to diagnose and treat major mental illness within his/her scope of practice" — Physician, Physician Assistant, APRN/NP, Psychologist or LIMHP. NE.CP.BH.105 then requires "Confirmed autism spectrum disorder (ASD) diagnosis according to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5 TR) criteria or an appropriate diagnosis as otherwise specified according to state-defined ABA criteria" — wording that deliberately preserves Nebraska's non-ASD pathway — plus a recommendation from a practitioner "qualified to diagnose ASD and recommend ABA."[4][1]
No ASD diagnostic instrument is required. What NE.CP.BH.105 requires instead is a battery inside the assessment: the IDI and an FBA with direct assessment and data analysis, plus "Administration of assessments, including but not limited to the following: Preference assessments; Standardized testing; Criterion-referenced testing; Functional Analysis." Behind it the state definitions ask for skills-based and standardized/norm-referenced or criterion-referenced assessments, with Vineland, VB-MAPP and ABLLS named for baseline and progress measurement.[1][3]
This is where Nebraska Total Care adds a gate the state does not have. NE.CP.BH.105 requires every ABA request to contain a "Recommendation for treatment with ABA by a physician, psychologist, social worker, or another appropriately licensed health care practitioner working within their scope of practice and who is qualified to diagnose ASD and recommend ABA." The state MSDs require no referral or order at all — their gate is the IDI plus the ABA assessment — so collect the recommendation for this plan specifically, not as a statewide habit.[1][3]
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: audiovisual telehealth for 97155 (only while the individual is receiving 97153 concurrently), 97156, and the 97151 assessment, each under the conditions the service definitions spell out; 97152, 97153, 97154 and 97158 cannot be delivered by telehealth. NE.CP.BH.105 states no telehealth position of its own.[3][5]
Ask the plan: Nebraska Total Care provider services / the secure provider portal at provider.nebraskatotalcare.com.
Nebraska Total Care publishes its own clock, and it matches the 2026 federal floor. "Preservice/non-urgent: Seven (7) calendar days"; "Preservice/Urgent: 72 hours"; "Concurrent review: 72 hours," with decisions made "as expeditiously as the member's health condition requires." The behavioral-health section says the same for the ABA request form (the OTR): "allow up to seven (7) calendar days to process non-urgent requests." Requests faxed or sent through the portal after 8 a.m.–5 p.m. CST, Monday to Friday, are "processed the next business day." Plan ahead, because nothing is backdated: "We will not retroactively certify routine services. The dates of the authorization request must correspond to the dates of expected services." An incomplete OTR "can result in authorization delays and/or denials." The plan publishes no ABA reauthorization lead time; its medical-side table asks five business days before elective outpatient services.[7]
"Nebraska Total Care is always the payer of last resort," and "Any other insurance, including Medicare, is always primary to Medicaid coverage." Bill the primary plan first. Then "submit a copy of the Explanation of Benefits (EOB) or Explanation of Payment (EOP), or rejection letter from the other insurance when the claim is filed." Without it the claim "will deny until this information is received." When a child has two primary plans ("Medicaid would be the third payer"), the claim "must be submitted on a paper claim," not by EDI or the portal. As secondary payer, claims are due "within 365 calendar days of the date of service" instead of 180. A third-party payment received after Nebraska Total Care has paid must be refunded within 30 calendar days, with the EOB. The manual does not say whether its own ABA prior auth is required when another plan is primary.[8][7]
Ask the plan: Nebraska Total Care Pre-Auth check tool or 1-844-385-2192: ask whether an OTR is still required for ABA when a commercial plan is primary.
Coverage decides whether Nebraska Total Care (Centene) pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.
Follows the Nebraska Medicaid rule: direct supervision by observation of the technician at no less than 10% of weekly direct service hours (97153/97154/97155), documented in progress notes with a corrective action plan when missed; at least one hour a month of in-person observation of each technician or LaBA; at least one hour a month of in-person direct service by the treating LBA or psychologist; and no more than 24 technicians per LBA. NE.CP.BH.105 adds an expectation rather than a number — "A comprehensive infrastructure for case supervision by a behavior analyst of all assessments and treatment" — and publishes no ratio of its own.[3][1]
Two answers stacked. The state sets the clinical ceiling: direct ABA "may not exceed 6 hours in a single day or a total of 20 hours per week," with more available on prior authorization and clinical justification. Nebraska Total Care answers the per-code question by pointing outward rather than publishing a table: "Providers should reference the most recent version of ABA Coding Coalition for information on Medically Unlikely Edits (MUEs), and related processes for code usage and descriptors. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services guidelines should be used to determine the maximum units of service a provider can report under most circumstances during a single date of service." One hard plan number does exist, for group work: "The minimum number of participants in group adaptive treatment is two and the maximum amount is eight."[1][3]
Nebraska Total Care is the one Heritage Health plan that names a session-note signer, and it is the person who delivered the service: every note must carry the "Rendering clinician/technician's name, credentials, and dated signature." The surrounding checklist is unusually granular — provider organization name at the top of each page, member name on every page, DOB or unique identifier, date of rendered service, date of note creation if different, "Time service was initiated (time in) and the time the service ended (time out)," "Pauses in services indicating the time the service was paused and the time it resumed," location of services, type/code of service, who else was present and their relationship, and a session summary. An addendum needs a clear reference to the note it supplements, the date completed, and a "Signature with credentials." One deadline is stated outright: "Completion of the treatment record prior to submission of a claim."[1]
Community, home, office or clinic — and school is not yours to bill. The treatment MSD lists the allowable settings as "Community, Home, Office or Clinic," then carves the school out entirely: "ABA services are covered as part of the Medicaid school-based services program, and are the responsibility of the school as outlined in Nebraska Administrative Code Title 471, Chapter 25 and the Medicaid State Plan. Independent providers may not bill Medicaid directly for services provided at a school." The assessment MSD keeps School on its settings list under the same carve-out. Where ABA does run in an educational setting, "A school plan is required for all educational settings, to include both public and private schools" (not daycare or after-school), it must be included in the student's IEP, it must focus on reducing behaviors that impede academic engagement rather than on general skill acquisition, and it must be time-limited with a transition plan shifting instructional control to school staff. Excluded outright: "Services delivered in the school setting as a shadow, or an aide, or to provide general support to the child or youth," and training for school personnel. Group homes are not addressed. Nebraska Total Care publishes no Nebraska-specific ABA policy that deviates from this, and its own material was checked for one. Its own note checklist requires the "Location of services" on every session note, so the setting is an audited field here rather than a background fact.[3][5][1]
Not stated in billing terms, though the definitions read as if it happens. The telehealth rule allows 97155 by audiovisual telehealth only where "The individual is receiving 97153 services concurrently," and the supervision percentage is measured against "direct service hours (97153/97154/97155)" as a single weekly pool — both of which presume the analyst and the technician on the clock at the same time. But neither MSD says in terms that both codes may be billed for the same clock time. What Nebraska does prohibit by name is a different concurrency: "Services delivered concurrently (at the same time) as another treatment modality (i.e. ST, OT, PT)," and "Services delivered by 2 LBAs unless non-duplicative and clinically appropriate." Nebraska Total Care republishes no concurrency edit; NE.CP.BH.105 points providers to the ABA Coding Coalition and CMS for unit questions instead.[3][1]
Ask the plan: Nebraska Total Care provider services / the secure provider portal at provider.nebraskatotalcare.com.
Nebraska controls this through code-level provider eligibility rather than a modifier set. Licensed clinicians who may bill 97151 — and who render 97155, 97156 and 97158 — are a psychiatrist, physician, psychologist or provisionally licensed psychologist, each with training in ABA, or a Licensed Behavior Analyst. Technicians who may bill 97152, 97153 and 97154 under a licensed clinician's supervision are a Licensed assistant Behavior Analyst or a Registered Behavior Technician. Since January 1, 2025 every BCBA must be licensed as an LBA and every BCaBA as a LaBA, so the state license rather than the BACB certificate is what makes the claim payable, and RBT is enrolled as its own Medicaid provider type (85) on the fee schedule. Which NPI carries the claim line is not stated. NE.CP.BH.105 requires the rendering clinician or technician to be named with credentials on every note, but says nothing about which NPI carries the claim.[3][1]
Ask the plan: Nebraska Total Care provider services / the secure provider portal at provider.nebraskatotalcare.com.
Yes — it administers the Nebraska Medicaid ABA benefit under the state Medicaid Service Definitions, with its NE.CP.BH.105 documentation policy layered on top. Its own policy says state provisions take precedence in any conflict.
Through the Outpatient Treatment Request (OTR) process — the ABA Form via the secure provider portal (provider.nebraskatotalcare.com) or fax 866-593-1955, with hours per code, clinical justification, titration/discharge and crisis plans, and coordination-of-care documentation.
The plan publishes no clear statewide statement that the assessment CPT codes require PA — the published policy focuses on what the assessment package must contain (IDI + FBA). Verify assessment-PA handling in the portal or with the plan before booking.
Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed September 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.
Carelu collects all of this automatically.
Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.
Get a Demo