---
title: "Aetna ABA coverage: verification & prior-auth guide."
url: "https://carelu.com/payers/aetna"
markdown_url: "https://carelu.com/payers/aetna.md"
state: US (national)
payer: Aetna
kind: Commercial insurance
description: "How Aetna covers ABA therapy: CPB 0554 policy, the precertification process and required information, provider qualifications, and telehealth rules — an intake-focused guide for ABA providers."
last_reviewed: September 2026
vob_data_updated: 2026-07-23
---

# Aetna ABA coverage: verification & prior-auth guide.

_Payer Guide · Aetna · Last updated September 2026 · 5 primary sources_

> CPB 0554 — ASD-only coverage, precert form GR-69017-4, telehealth codes.

Aetna covers ABA for autism spectrum disorder under its clinical policy CPB 0554 — and considers it experimental for everything else. Coverage is real but gated: precertification with specific required information, an ASD-only diagnosis scope, and plan-by-plan variation that makes benefit verification non-negotiable. Here's what intake needs to capture to get a family from "we have Aetna" to an authorized start.

## Prior authorization and diagnosis at a glance

- **Prior auth for the assessment**: Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026) [3][4]
- **Prior auth for treatment**: Required — precertification [3][4]

## At a glance

- **Covers ABA?:** Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only
- **Policy:** CPB 0554 (ABA) + CPB 0648 (ASD)
- **Precert:** Required — form GR-69017-4 (eff. 1/1/2026), via Availity or phone
- **Provider bar:** BACB certification or state BA licensure
- **Telehealth:** Covered for 97151, 97153, 97155, 97156, 97157
- **Reauth cadence:** Commonly ~6 months (verify per plan)

## What Aetna requires for precertification

As of January 1, 2026, a single form — GR-69017-4 — replaces Aetna's previous ABA precert forms, submitted through Availity's two-step process (precert add + clinical questionnaire) or by phone. The information it demands is exactly what a good intake process should have already collected: [1]

- **Diagnosis details:** DSM-5 diagnosis code(s), the diagnosing provider, and their credentials. [1]
- **Requested hours by CPT code:** The proposed intensity, code by code — which means the assessment plan needs to exist before the request. [1]
- **Supervising clinician:** Name and credential of the BCBA or licensed clinician overseeing the case. [1]
- **Concurrent services:** PT/OT/speech and school services, plus how care is coordinated across them. [1]
- **Rationale for changes:** Any increase or change in hours needs explicit clinical justification. [1]

## Provider qualifications

Practitioners delivering ABA under Aetna policy need BACB national certification or state behavior-analyst licensure; unlicensed staff work under supervision per practice standards. The diagnosis itself must come from a provider qualified to diagnose within their scope — licensed psychologist, psychiatrist, or physician. CPB 0648 also references intensive-intervention research norms (25 hours/week, 12 months/year), useful context when justifying requested intensity. [1][2]

## Telehealth

Aetna covers telehealth for 97151, 97153, 97155, 97156, and 97157 (97152 is excluded), billed with GT/95/FR modifiers per its telemedicine payment policy. Notably, Aetna announced it would end ABA telehealth coverage in late 2023 — then rescinded the change within weeks. The lesson for intake: telehealth rules are volatile; verify the current position on every benefits check rather than assuming last quarter's answer. [1]

## The plan-variation trap

CPB 0554 is Aetna's clinical policy — but self-funded employer plans can carve benefits differently, and state mandates layer on top. Two families with Aetna cards can have materially different ABA benefits. The only safe intake behavior is a live benefits verification on every family: ABA coverage confirmation, deductible status, visit or dollar limits, and the precert path for that specific plan. [1]

## How Aetna works state by state

The clinical policy above is national, but three state-level layers change what a family's card actually buys: the state autism mandate (what fully-insured plans must cover), the carrier's state Medicaid plans (which follow the state Medicaid rules, not this commercial policy), and plan funding type (self-funded ERISA plans can carve benefits differently).

- **Georgia** (mandate: Ava’s Law (O.C.G.A. § 33-24-59.10)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Georgia sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Georgia Medicaid guide](https://carelu.com/payers/georgia-medicaid).
- **North Carolina** (mandate: N.C.G.S. § 58-3-192 (autism coverage)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in North Carolina sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [North Carolina Medicaid guide](https://carelu.com/payers/north-carolina-medicaid).
- **Indiana** (mandate: Indiana autism insurance mandate (IC 27-8-14.2)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Indiana sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Indiana Medicaid (IHCP) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/indiana-medicaid).
- **Virginia** (mandate: Virginia autism insurance mandate (§ 38.2-3418.17)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Virginia sit under the state mandate. For Medicaid members, Aetna operates [Aetna Better Health of Virginia](https://carelu.com/payers/aetna-better-health-virginia) (each covered by its own guide). State Medicaid baseline: [Virginia Medicaid (DMAS) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/virginia-medicaid).
- **Tennessee** (mandate: Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-7-2367 (neurological parity)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Tennessee sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [TennCare (Tennessee Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/tenncare-tennessee-medicaid).
- **Ohio** (mandate: Ohio autism insurance mandate (R.C. 3923.84)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Ohio sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Ohio Medicaid guide](https://carelu.com/payers/ohio-medicaid).
- **New Jersey** (mandate: P.L. 2009, c.115 (N.J.S.A. 17:48-6ii et al.)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in New Jersey sit under the state mandate. For Medicaid members, Aetna operates [Aetna Better Health of New Jersey](https://carelu.com/payers/aetna-better-health-new-jersey) (each covered by its own guide). State Medicaid baseline: [NJ FamilyCare (New Jersey Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/new-jersey-medicaid).
- **Maryland** (mandate: Habilitative services mandate (Md. Ins. § 15-835 + COMAR 31.10.39.03)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Maryland sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Maryland Medicaid (Medical Assistance) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/maryland-medicaid).
- **Colorado** (mandate: Colorado autism insurance mandate (C.R.S. § 10-16-104(1.4))): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Colorado sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Health First Colorado (Colorado Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/colorado-medicaid).
- **Utah** (mandate: Utah autism insurance mandate (Utah Code § 31A-22-642; caps removed 2020)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Utah sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Utah Medicaid guide](https://carelu.com/payers/utah-medicaid).
- **Arizona** (mandate: Steven’s Law (A.R.S. § 20-826.04; dollar caps repealed by SB 1590, 2025)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Arizona sit under the state mandate. For Medicaid members, Aetna operates [Mercy Care (AZ)](https://carelu.com/payers/mercy-care-arizona) (each covered by its own guide). State Medicaid baseline: [AHCCCS (Arizona Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/arizona-ahcccs).
- **New York** (mandate: NY autism mandate (Ins. Law §§ 3216(i)(25), 3221(l)(17), 4303(ee))): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in New York sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [New York Medicaid (NYS DOH / eMedNY) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/new-york-medicaid).
- **New Mexico** (mandate: New Mexico autism insurance mandate (NMSA 1978 § 59A-22-49)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in New Mexico sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [New Mexico Medicaid (Turquoise Care) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/new-mexico-medicaid).
- **Missouri** (mandate: Missouri autism insurance mandate (RSMo § 376.1224)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Missouri sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [MO HealthNet (Missouri Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/missouri-medicaid).
- **Texas** (mandate: Texas autism mandate (Tex. Ins. Code § 1355.015)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Texas sit under the state mandate. For Medicaid members, Aetna operates [Aetna Better Health of Texas](https://carelu.com/payers/aetna-better-health-texas) (each covered by its own guide). State Medicaid baseline: [Texas Medicaid (THSteps-CCP) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/texas-medicaid).
- **Massachusetts** (mandate: ARICA — Ch. 207, Acts of 2010 (M.G.L. c. 175 § 47AA et al.)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Massachusetts sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [MassHealth (Massachusetts Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/masshealth-massachusetts-medicaid).
- **Florida** (mandate: Steven A. Geller Autism Coverage Act (§ 627.6686, Fla. Stat.)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Florida sit under the state mandate. For Medicaid members, Aetna operates [Aetna Better Health of Florida](https://carelu.com/payers/aetna-better-health-florida) (each covered by its own guide). State Medicaid baseline: [Florida Medicaid — Behavior Analysis Services (AHCA) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/florida-medicaid).
- **Kansas** (mandate: Kansas autism insurance mandate (K.S.A. 40-2,194)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Kansas sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [KanCare (Kansas Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/kansas-medicaid).
- **Nebraska** (mandate: Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-7,106 (autism coverage, 25 hr/wk cap)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Nebraska sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Nebraska Medicaid (Heritage Health) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/nebraska-medicaid).
- **Idaho** (mandate: No autism statute — DOI Bulletin 18-02 (habilitative-parity floor, plan years from 2019)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Idaho sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Idaho Medicaid guide](https://carelu.com/payers/idaho-medicaid).
- **Iowa** (mandate: Iowa autism mandates (Iowa Code §§ 514C.31, 514C.28; caps and age limits removed by H.F. 330 from 1/1/2026)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Iowa sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Iowa Medicaid (IA Health Link) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/iowa-medicaid).
- **Oklahoma** (mandate: Nick’s Law (36 O.S. § 6060.21; age and hour caps removed 2022)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Oklahoma sit under the state mandate. For Medicaid members, Aetna operates [Aetna Better Health of Oklahoma](https://carelu.com/payers/aetna-better-health-oklahoma) (each covered by its own guide). State Medicaid baseline: [Oklahoma Medicaid (SoonerCare / SoonerSelect) - Oklahoma Health Care Authority guide](https://carelu.com/payers/oklahoma-medicaid).
- **Michigan** (mandate: Michigan autism mandate (MCL 500.3406s, 550.1416e; through age 18, $50K/$40K/$30K caps allowed)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Michigan sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Michigan Medicaid guide](https://carelu.com/payers/michigan-medicaid).
- **Hawaii** (mandate: Luke’s Law (HRS § 431:10A-133; under 14, $25,000/yr ABA cap)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Hawaii sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Hawaii Medicaid (Med-QUEST / QUEST Integration) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/hawaii-medicaid).
- **California** (mandate: SB 946 autism mandate (H&S § 1374.73, Ins. Code § 10144.51; no age or dollar caps)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in California sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Medi-Cal (California Medicaid) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/medi-cal-california-medicaid).
- **Pennsylvania** (mandate: Act 62 of 2008 (40 P.S. § 764h; under 21, CPI-adjusted cap $51,908 for 2026)): fully-insured Aetna plans issued in Pennsylvania sit under the state mandate. State Medicaid baseline: [Pennsylvania Medicaid (Medical Assistance) guide](https://carelu.com/payers/pennsylvania-medicaid).

## Intake gates

The questions that decide whether a family can start with Aetna, and what they have to bring.

- **Who may diagnose**: The diagnosis must come from a provider qualified to diagnose within their scope — a licensed psychologist, psychiatrist or physician. That is a scope-of-practice test rather than a closed credential list, and it is enforced at the front door: the precertification form asks for the DSM-5 diagnosis code, the diagnosing provider and their credentials, so the diagnosing clinician's name and credential are submission data. [1][2]
- **Referral required?**: CPB 0554 imposes no referral or physician-order requirement of its own; what it imposes is precertification, required for both the assessment and treatment, on form GR-69017-4 since January 1, 2026, submitted through Availity's two-step process or by phone, with reauthorization commonly on a roughly six-month cadence. Where a state autism mandate applies to a fully-insured plan, that mandate may add a prescription or physician-order requirement of its own — Maryland and Missouri both do — so check the state layer before assuming none exists. [1]
- **Telehealth**: Covered for 97151, 97153, 97155, 97156 and 97157; 97152 is excluded. Bill with GT, 95 or FR modifiers per Aetna's telemedicine payment policy. Treat the answer as perishable rather than settled: Aetna announced it would end ABA telehealth coverage in late 2023 and rescinded the change within weeks. Verify the current position on every benefits check rather than reusing last quarter's answer. [1]
- **Other insurance (who pays first)**: Aetna coordinates "as allowed by state or federal law following the National Associations of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) guidelines. If there is no applicable law, then we coordinate according to the member's plan," and lists the birthday rule among the order-of-benefit rules it applies: for a child whose parents are married or living together, the plan of the parent whose birthday falls earlier in the year is primary; separated or divorced parents follow the custodial-parent rule unless a court order assigns coverage. Secondary payment is either the standard 100%-allowable method or maintenance of benefits, "a method used by many self-funded plans" under which Aetna pays nothing when the primary's benefit equals or exceeds Aetna's. Aetna pays ahead of Medicaid (payer of last resort by federal law — the Medicaid program may still require its own PA), TRICARE (secondary to other health insurance by law) and CHAMPVA (pays after other health insurance). [6][9][10][11]
- **Age limit** _(plan-dependent)_: CPB 0554 states no age limit for ABA. What decides the age question on an Aetna card is therefore the plan and the state: self-funded employer plans can carve benefits differently, and state autism mandates layer their own age bands on fully-insured business. Two families with Aetna cards can have materially different ABA benefits, so age is a benefits-verification answer, not a policy lookup. [1]
  - Ask the plan: A live benefits verification on every family — ABA coverage confirmation, any age or visit limits, deductible status, and the precert path for that specific plan.
- **Prior-auth decision time** _(plan-dependent)_: No national number: Aetna's provider manual publishes no decision clock for ABA precertification, so the deadline comes from the law that governs the plan. Self-funded employer plans (ERISA): a pre-service decision "not later than 15 days after receipt of the claim," extendable once by 15 days, and 72 hours for urgent care. Fully insured plans follow the state's utilization-review law, which is often tighter — Aetna's own state supplement shows Texas at "3 calendar days from receipt of a complete request." Reauthorization lead time is likewise a state-law and plan question; capture the authorization end date and file the continued-service request well before it. [6][7][8]
  - Ask the plan: Benefits verification: ask whether the plan is fully insured (state UR deadlines) or self-funded (ERISA deadlines), and ask Aetna precertification how early a reauthorization may be submitted.
- **Diagnosis recency** _(ask the plan)_: No recency rule is published. CPB 0554 does not state how recent the ASD diagnostic evaluation must be, and the precertification form (GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026) asks for the evaluation's diagnosis code, the diagnosing provider and their credentials without a date test. Capture the evaluation date at intake regardless — it is on the form, and any plan-level rule will be applied against it. [1]
  - Ask the plan: The precertification submission itself — Availity's two-step precert add plus clinical questionnaire, or the precert phone line. Ask whether an evaluation of this age is acceptable before booking the assessment.
- **Diagnostic tools required** _(ask the plan)_: No instrument is named. CPB 0554 does not require or reference a specific diagnostic tool, and the precertification form asks for the diagnosis code, the diagnosing provider and their credentials rather than for an instrument, date and score — a notably lighter bar than Optum's validated-tool requirement or MHS's named-instrument form. Collect the instrument anyway: a state mandate or a downstream reviewer may want it even when the policy does not. [1]
  - Ask the plan: Aetna precertification (Availity or the number on the card) — ask whether a specific instrument is expected for this plan before scheduling testing.

## Delivery and billing rules

Coverage decides whether Aetna pays. These decide whether the claim survives: staffing and supervision, concurrent billing, per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.

- **Supervision**: Practitioners delivering ABA under CPB 0554 need BACB national certification or state behavior-analyst licensure, and unlicensed staff work under supervision per practice standards. Aetna publishes no hours-per-hours ratio of its own. The precertification form does make supervision a submission fact rather than an internal one: it asks for the name and credential of the BCBA or licensed clinician overseeing the case. For context on intensity rather than supervision, CPB 0648 references intensive-intervention research norms of 25 hours a week, 12 months a year. [1][2]
- **Concurrent billing (97153 + 97155)** _(ask the plan)_: Not published. Neither CPB 0554 nor CPB 0648 states whether 97155 and 97153 may be billed for the same clock time; Aetna handles code-pair questions through reimbursement and claim-editing policy rather than through the clinical policy bulletin. The precertification form does require requested hours to be listed code by code, so the authorization will at least be explicit about which codes are in play. [1]
  - Ask the plan: Availity Essentials for the plan's reimbursement and claim-editing policies, or the provider-services number on the member's card. Ask specifically about 97153 billed alongside 97155.
- **Daily limits / MUEs** _(ask the plan)_: Not published. CPB 0554 lists the covered ABA codes but sets no per-day unit ceiling, and Aetna publishes no ABA-specific MUE table. The operative ceiling is the precertification itself, which requires requested hours to be listed code by code — so the authorization, not a policy, is what bounds the day. CPB 0648 references intensive-intervention research norms of 25 hours a week, 12 months a year as clinical context rather than as a limit. [1]
  - Ask the plan: The authorization letter itself, plus Availity Essentials for the plan's claim-editing and reimbursement policies. Ask whether CMS MUE limits are applied to ABA codes on this plan.
- **Session-note signature** _(ask the plan)_: Not published. CPB 0554 and CPB 0648 set coverage criteria and precertification content; neither states what a session note must contain, who signs it, or by when. [1]
  - Ask the plan: Aetna provider services or Availity — ask for the documentation standard applied at audit, and keep to the precertification form's own data elements in the meantime.
- **Place of service** _(ask the plan)_: Not published as a payable-settings list. What CPB 0554 does make a submission requirement is adjacent and useful: the precertification form asks for concurrent services — PT, OT, speech and school services — plus how care is coordinated across them, so the school picture is data Aetna collects even though it publishes no school-versus-home rule. [1]
  - Ask the plan: Benefits verification on the specific plan — ask which places of service are payable for ABA and whether school-based delivery is excluded.
- **Bill as provider** _(ask the plan)_: Not published for ABA. CPB 0554 sets who may deliver the service — BACB-certified or state-licensed behavior analysts, with unlicensed staff supervised — but does not state whose NPI carries a technician-delivered 97153 claim, or which degree-level modifiers apply. [1]
  - Ask the plan: Aetna provider services or Availity — confirm the rendering-versus-billing NPI convention and any required modifiers before the first claim.

## What intake should collect for Aetna

- **Member ID, group ID & subscriber:** Plus a card photo — enough to run verification without a callback.
- **Plan type:** Fully insured vs. self-funded changes which rules apply; note the state of issue for mandate purposes.
- **Diagnosis report:** DSM-5 ASD code, diagnosing provider and credentials, evaluation date.
- **Concurrent services:** Speech, OT, PT, school supports — required on the precert form.
- **Prior ABA history:** Previous providers, hours, and progress — needed to justify requested intensity.

Free verification-call checklist (PDF): https://carelu.com/downloads/aba-verification-call-checklist.pdf

## Verification of benefits (VOB) data

How Aetna ABA benefits route and read on an eligibility check. Data last updated 2026-07-23.

### EDI routing

- **Payer ID (pVerify):** 00001 — 00001 is the generic national pVerify "Aetna" entry, reused from vob/texas.ts's aetna-texas commercial entry. pVerify separately lists "TEXAS HEALTH AETNA" (00875) and other regional joint-venture plans as distinct products — confirm the member's specific plan before routing.
- **Payer ID (Availity):** 60054
- **Supports 270/271 eligibility:** Yes

### Code-level coverage

| Code | Covered | Prior auth | Unit cap | Place of service | Telehealth | Modifiers |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 97151 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | Yes — GT/95/FR modifiers per Aetna's telemedicine payment policy | GT, 95, FR (telehealth) |
| 97152 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | No — 97152 is explicitly excluded from Aetna's ABA telehealth coverage | plan-dependent |
| 97153 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | Yes — GT/95/FR modifiers per Aetna's telemedicine payment policy | GT, 95, FR (telehealth) |
| 97154 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | No — 97152 is explicitly excluded from Aetna's ABA telehealth coverage | plan-dependent |
| 97155 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | Yes — GT/95/FR modifiers per Aetna's telemedicine payment policy | GT, 95, FR (telehealth) |
| 97156 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | Yes — GT/95/FR modifiers per Aetna's telemedicine payment policy | GT, 95, FR (telehealth) |
| 97157 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | Yes — GT/95/FR modifiers per Aetna's telemedicine payment policy | GT, 95, FR (telehealth) |
| 97158 | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | No — 97152 is explicitly excluded from Aetna's ABA telehealth coverage | plan-dependent |
| 99366 | Not confirmed (see code notes) | — | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | — | plan-dependent |
| 0362T | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | No — 97152 is explicitly excluded from Aetna's ABA telehealth coverage | plan-dependent |
| 0373T | Yes — for ASD (F84.0–F84.9) only, per national policy CPB 0554 (paired with CPB 0648) | Required — precertification (form GR-69017-4, eff. 1/1/2026), submitted via Availity or phone; reauthorization commonly ~6 months (verify per plan) | plan-dependent — CPB 0554 sets no numeric unit or hour cap; self-funded/ERISA plans, fully-insured plan documents, and state mandates each set their own limits per plan-dependent | plan-dependent | No — 97152 is explicitly excluded from Aetna's ABA telehealth coverage | plan-dependent |

Code notes:

- **97151, 97152, 97153, 97154, 97155, 97156, 97157, 97158, 99366, 0362T, 0373T:** Verify via: Aetna provider services / precertification — CPB 0554 & 0648 are national medical-necessity policies; unit caps, POS, and non-telehealth modifiers are governed by the specific plan document, not stated nationally.

### Contacts

- **Provider services phone:** 1-888-632-3862 (commercial) / 1-800-624-0756 (Medicare)
- **Portal:** [Availity Essentials](https://www.availity.com/)

Questions to ask on a verification call:

- Does Aetna administer ABA in-house for this plan, or via a behavioral-health carve-out — and if carved out, what administrator/payer ID should we use for eligibility checks?
- Does this plan support real-time (vs. batch) 270/271 eligibility for payer ID 00001?
- What are the daily/session unit caps for 97151-97158 and 0362T/0373T under this specific plan?
- What place-of-service settings (home/office/school/telehealth) does this plan allow for ABA, and what modifiers does it require?
- Is 99366 (interdisciplinary team meeting) a covered, billable benefit under this plan?

### VOB data sources

- https://pverify.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/pVerifyPayers_All-Payers-List-3-2026.pdf (accessed 2026-07-23)
- https://essentials.availity.com/availity/documents/payer_list_wShortNames.pdf (accessed 2026-07-23)
- https://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/500_599/0554.html (accessed 2026-07-23)
- https://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/600_699/0648.html (accessed 2026-07-23)
- https://www.caqh.org/sites/default/files/CAQH%20CORE%20Eligibility%20Benefits%20(270_271)%20Data%20Content%20Rule%20vEB2.0.pdf (accessed 2026-07-23)
- https://www.aetnaseniorproducts.com/ssi/assets/pdf/Aetna%20SSI%20EDI%20270-271%20Companion%20guide.pdf (accessed 2026-07-23)
- https://www.aetna.com/content/dam/aetna/pdfs/aetnacom/healthcare-professionals/documents-forms/bh_precert_list.pdf (accessed 2026-07-23; source document older than 18 months)

## Common questions

### Does Aetna cover ABA therapy?

Yes — for autism spectrum disorder (ICD-10 F84.0–F84.9) under clinical policy CPB 0554, with precertification. Aetna considers ABA experimental for non-ASD indications.

### Does Aetna require prior authorization for ABA?

Yes. As of 1/1/2026, precertification uses form GR-69017-4, submitted via Availity or by phone, with diagnosis details, requested hours per CPT code, the supervising clinician, and concurrent services.

### Does Aetna cover ABA by telehealth?

Yes, for codes 97151, 97153, 97155, 97156, and 97157 (not 97152) — but the policy has shifted before, so confirm the current rule during each benefits verification.

## Primary sources

1. [Aetna CPB 0554 — Applied Behavior Analysis](https://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/500_599/0554.html)
2. [Aetna CPB 0648 — Autism Spectrum Disorders](https://www.aetna.com/cpb/medical/data/600_699/0648.html)
3. [Aetna — Participating provider behavioral health precertification list (eff. Aug. 1, 2024) (PDF)](https://www.aetna.com/content/dam/aetna/pdfs/aetnacom/healthcare-professionals/documents-forms/bh_precert_list.pdf)
4. [Aetna — Outpatient BH ABA Treatment Request: Required Information for Precertification, form GR-69017-4 (PDF)](https://www.aetna.com/content/dam/aetna/pdfs/aetnacom/pharmacy-insurance/healthcare-professional/documents/outpatient-behavioral-health-BH-ABA-assessment-precert.pdf)
5. [Aetna — Applied behavior analysis medical necessity guide (PDF)](https://www.aetna.com/content/dam/aetna/pdfs/health-care-professionals/applied-behavioral-analysis-necessity-guide.pdf)
6. [Aetna — Provider manual (8102800-01-01, 6/26) (PDF)](https://www.aetna.com/content/dam/aetna/pdfs/aetnacom/health-care-professionals/office_manual_hcp.pdf)
7. [Aetna — Provider manual State Supplement, Texas section (8705750-01-01, 7/26) (PDF)](https://www.aetna.com/content/dam/aetna/pdfs/aetnacom/healthcare-professionals/documents-forms/ProviderManual-StateSpplmt.pdf)
8. [29 CFR § 2560.503-1(f)(2) — ERISA group health plan claim decision deadlines](https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-29/subtitle-B/chapter-XXV/subchapter-F/part-2560/section-2560.503-1)
9. [42 CFR § 433.139 — Medicaid payment of claims involving third party liability](https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-C/part-433/subpart-D/section-433.139)
10. [32 CFR § 199.8 — TRICARE double coverage](https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-32/subtitle-A/chapter-VII/part-199/section-199.8)
11. [VA — CHAMPVA Guidebook (updated Jan. 1, 2025) (PDF)](https://www.va.gov/files/2025-12/CHAMPVA-Guidebook.pdf)

Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed September 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.

Source: Carelu ABA Payer Directory — https://carelu.com/payers. Free to cite with attribution.
